Fansided Bloggers Pick NHL Awards Winners

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Jun 12, 2008; Toronto, ON, Canada; Detroit Red Wings defenseman Nicklas Lidstrom (5) receives the James Norris Trophy during the NHL Awards at the Elgin Theatre in Toronto, ON. Mandatory Credit: Tom Szczerbowski-US PRESSWIRE

With the regular season in the books for over a week now, I thought it best to ask around the Fansided network to see what some of our staff writers and editors thought of the past season.  Best way to gauge how the season went (or so I think)?  Poll everyone on who they think should win which awards.  While some were pretty much unanimous with their answers, not every category was clear cut.  Despite the fact that people were telling me there were some “guarantees” no one player had all 7 possible votes for each category.  We still have a few more weeks until the NHL Awards, but us here at Fansided wanted to get a jump on this.

First let’s introduce our esteemed bloggers:

Dave Church, you should recognize him from Flame For Thought as a staff writer.  

Dan Bradley is the editor over at Predlines, covering all things Nashville Predators as they quest for the Stanley Cup. 

James Wrable is the c0-editor of Blueline Station where you can find out everything you need to know about the New York Rangers.  

Sally Brown covers the Carolina Hurricanes over at Cardiac Cane as a staff writer. 

David Lasseter is part of The Rattrick family, blogging about the Florida Panthers and their playoff run.  

Andrew Monrreal writes for Blackout Dallas as a staff writer covering the Dallas Stars.  

Jeff Chapman is the editor for Oil On Whyte, the Fansided blog dedicated to the dreaded Edmonton Oilers.  

I think you will find this group’s hockey knowledge both extensive and exhaustive.  

Hart Memorial Trophy is awarded to the league’s most valuable player.  Currently it is held by Corey Perry of the Anaheim Ducks, but our blogging team doesn’t think he is going to see the trophy again.  According to all but of the 1 bloggers, Evgeni Malkin from the Pittsburgh Penguins will walk away with the Hart trophy this summer.  Dan Bradley was the only one who picked another player, Jonathan Quick from the LA Kings, stating ” Where would the Kings be without him? Pittsburgh has had success without Geno before. Quick carried that team.”  What do you think?  Is Dan silly for going against the other 6 picks?  Or do you think he has some logic with his pick of Quick?

James Norris Memorial Trophy is awarded to the defenseman who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position.  Nicklas Lidström was awarded the Norris Trophy last season and it looks like he will be not receiving it again if our writers have anything to say about it.  Once again, 6 pick Erik Karlsson with Sally Brown telling me all of his stats (thanks! I try to block out all news about the Ottawa Senators, so it was nice to see what they’ve going on) but more importantly she thinks Karlsson will win because “he has a mustache”.

Calder Memorial Trophy goes to the leagues most outstanding rookie.  Jeff Skinner was last year’s rookie of the year and this season it look like his replacement is either Gabriel Landeskog (6 picks) or Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (1 pick).  Dave Church picked RNH despite his allegiance to the Flames, however Jeff Chapman says despite his love of RNH, ” Landeskog has played tougher minutes and has played in almost every situation given to him.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is awarded to the player who exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.  Martin St. Louis currently is the Byngiest of all players but only receives one vote this season from our bloggers.  His competition?  David Lasseter and and Dave Church went with Brian Campbell of the Florida Panthers, while Sally and Jeff went with Matt Moulson from the New York Islanders, Andrew Monrreal went with Dallas Stars’ Loui Eriksson, Dan chose Philadelphia Flyers’ Hulk Hogan Scott Hartnell after asking if they still awarded this, and James Wrable went with Martin St. Louis himself.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Next Flames Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Oct 2525 Oct8:00Washington CapitalsBuy Tickets

Tags: Adams Awards Byng Calder Hart Masterton NHL Norris Selke Vezina

comments powered by Disqus